St. Joseph County Democratic Party chair resigns

ST. JOSEPH COUNTY, Ind. (WNDU) - The chair of the St. Joseph County Democratic Party resigned early Friday morning.

Jason Critchlow has been chair since 2013. Vice Chair Debbie Ladyga-Block will immediately assume the daily duties of Party Chair until a caucus of precinct committees is convened to elect a permanent Chair, according to a news release. Critchlow hasn't revealed his next move.

"I am proud to say that we have met those goals together and believe I leave this role with a reputation of hard work, consensus-building, and fair practices," Critchlow said in the release. "Now is the time for a new leader to step in to maintain that reputation and build upon that work.”