Jeff Jeffers elected to Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame

Published: Jan. 20, 2022 at 2:10 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SOUTH BEND, Ind. (WNDU) - The late dean of local sports, Jeff Jeffers, has been elected to the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association Hall of Fame.

Jeff graced the airwaves of WNDU for over 40 years before passing away in 2017 at the age of 64. While Jeff covered all aspects of sports in the region, he was synonymous with his coverage of Notre Dame football.

Jeff received an honorary monogram from ND in 2006 for his lifetime support of the school. Jeff was also enshrined in the Indiana Football Hall of Fame in 2008 for his contributions to the growth of the game of football in the South Bend area.

As WHME Sports Director and co-host of “Countdown to Kickoff” Chuck Freeby said in a tweet Thursday afternoon, it’s a well-deserved and long overdue honor for our former friend and long-time colleague here at WNDU.

Jeff is not the only South Bend sports reporter to be elected this year. Long-time South Bend Tribune sportswriter Eric Hansen was also elected! Eric recently started a new project with, where he continues to cover Notre Dame athletics.

Other inductees include Dave Calabro (WTHR-TV in Indianapolis), Barry Lewis (Crawfordsville Journal-Review), Rob Weaver (WPGW Radio in Portland, Jay County), and David Woods (Indianapolis Star).

Meanwhile, the Indiana Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association will recognize winners of several other annual honors. The awards banquet will be held on April 10 at Valle Vista Country Club in Greenwood.

Copyright 2022 WNDU. All rights reserved.