Kosciusko, Marshall counties under burn ban

Dry weather has caused local fire officials to declare burn bans in several northern counties, including Kosciusko and Marshall.

Much of the southern half of the state has been under burn warnings for more than a week.

Marshall County's ban went into effect today. It will be in effect until at least a week from today.

Kosciusko County's ban has been in effect since Monday, and will continue until next Monday. County commissioners from both counties will review the bans once they expire to determine if they need to be continued.

Sixty-seven counties in Indiana are currently reporting active burn bans.

Burn bans differ from county to county. The local fire chief that enacts the ban is responsible for determining what activities are banned, and for enforcing the ban.

Both Kosciusko and Marshall counties' bans apply to open burns.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 104458628 - wndu.com/a?a=104458628
Gray Television, Inc.