Fifteen southern Indiana counties declared disaster area

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

President Barack Obama has authorized federal disaster aid for 15 southern Indiana counties hit by a late January ice storm.

Obama's disaster declaration means eligible state and local governments and certain private nonprofit groups can apply for federal aid.

Those funds can be used on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work, repairs or replacement of infrastructure damaged by a winter storm that struck the area Jan. 26-28.

That storm coated southern Indiana with up to three-quarters of an inch of ice, cutting power to more than 100,000 homes and businesses.

The 15 counties eligible for aid are: Clark, Crawford, Dubois, Floyd, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Orange, Perry, Spencer, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Washington.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 40839547 -
Gray Television, Inc.