Notre Dame recruit Jaylon Smith named Mr. Football in Indiana

A week ago, Mishawaka quarterback Sam Schrader was named the Gatorade Indiana Player of the Year in football.

Thursday, Schrader finished 3rd in the voting for Mr. Football.

The player who won---well he'll be playing in Michiana soon enough.

Notre Dame recruit Jaylon Smith becomes the first player from Fort Wayne in the 20 year history of the award to win. That includes the likes of current Notre Dame players John Goodman and Tyler Eifert.

Smith recently won the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top high school linebacker. He's considered one of the best recruits in the country and it could play immediately for the Irish next season.

Smith led Bishop Luers to four straight state championship.

Smith is the 2nd straight Notre Dame recruit to win Mr. Football in Indiana. Quarterback Gunner Kiel won it last year.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 182405461 -
Gray Television, Inc.