National Coordinator of NCAA officials say refs got final call right in ND-Stanford game

The referee's call on the final play of the Notre Dame-Stanford game was correct, according to the National Coordinator of NCAA Football Officials.

Stanford was attempting to score to force a 2nd overtime but Stepfan Taylor's progress had been stopped before he reached the ball across the goal line.

After the play, the replay officials reviewed it and decided that the officials on the field made the correct call.

Taylor was lying on a pile of defenders but his knees were never down and one of his elbows might have touched the soggy field.

The replay officials do not have access to audio of the play and can't determine if a whistle had blown the play dead.

5th ranked Notre Dame won the game 20-13 in overtime and remains undefeated through six games. The Irish host BYU Saturday.


WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 174644931 - wndu.com/a?a=174644931
Gray Television, Inc.