Eifert named finalist for Mackey Award

University of Notre Dame junior tight end Tyler Eifert was named one of three finalists for theJohn Mackey Award, the Nassau County Sports Commission announced Monday.

The John Mackey Award is presented annually to the top tight end in college football.

Eifert leads all NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision tight ends with 53 receptions and ranks second among all tight ends with 634 receiving yards. Eifert has caught five touchdown passes this year and is one shy of tying Ken MacAfee’s school record for TD receptions in a season.

The 53 catches by Eifert are the second most by a Notre Dame tight end and is one shy of MacAfee’s mark set in 1977. Eifert’s receiving yards total is tied for the second most in a season at Notre Dame with John Carlson’s 2006 total and only trails MacAfee’s 1977 output of 797 yards.

Eifert has registered a career-best eight receptions on three different occasions this year. His 80 career receptions for 966 yards both rank fifth all-time at Notre Dame.

Along with Eifert, Clemson’s Dwayne Allen and Orson Charles of Georgia are finalists for the Mackey Award. The three finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. The 2011 John Mackey Award winner will be presented live on ESPNU at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on Dec. 8 at 8 pm EST.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 134304568 - wndu.com/a?a=134304568
Gray Television, Inc.