Brian Kelly names Notre Dame captains

Brian Kelly announced on twitter Monday night that Notre Dame will have four captains for the upcoming season, which begins Saturday in Dublin against Navy.

Kelly named tight end Tyler Eifert, offensive lineman Zach Martin, defensive lineman Kapron Lewis-Moore and linebacker Manti Te'o as Notre Dame's season long captains.

"Humbled to be able to represent my teammates as one of this years captains! Love my team! We are ND!" Te'o wrote on twitter.

"Words cant describe how excited I am," Lewis-Moore tweeted."I just want to say its an honor and also a privilege. I am very humbled. Thank you so much for the congratulations and support. There are a lot of guys on the team that are just as deserving as i am. I love my teammates past and present. And can't wait till sat to play again! "

Harrison Smith and Michael Floyd were 2011 captains before Floyd's DUI stripped him of the title leaving Smith as the lone Irish season longer captain a season ago.

Eifert and Te'o both had opportunities to leave Notre Dame for the NFL after their junior seasons but decided to return for one last go around.

The Irish depart for Dublin Wednesday. Gametime on Saturday is set for 9am South Bend time.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 167638385 -
Gray Television, Inc.