Three area wrestlers win state championships

Congratulations to Jimtown's Nick Crume(126 lbs), Mishawaka's Tommy Forth (138 lbs) and Culver Community's Matt Huford (182 lbs) for winning individual wrestling state championships Saturday night in Indianapolis.

At Bankers Life Fieldhouse, Indianapolis

TOP 3 TEAM SCORES: Perry Meridian 102 ½, Yorktown 62, Mishawaka 53

106: Chad Red (New Palestine) dec. Garrett Pepple (East Noble), 4-0.
113: Stevan Micic (Hanover Central) dec. Zach Davis (Penn), 9-7.
120: Deondre Wilson (Warren Central) dec. Drew Hughes (Lowell), 6-2.
126: Nick Crume (Jimtown) dec. Luke Welch (Castle), 3-0 in OT.
132: Cody Lecount (Perry Meridian) tech fall Grant Martsolf (Mishawaka), 16-1 in 4:26.
138: Tommy Forte (Mishawaka) dec. Luke Blanton (Alexandria ), 12-7.
145: Neal Molly (Danville) dec. Eli Walker (Yorktown), 4-3.
152: Josh Farrell (Greenfield Central) dec. Vinny Corsaro (Indianapolis Cathedral), 3-2.
160: Riley McClurg (Perry Meridian) dec. Austin McCloskey (Western Boone), 2-1 in OT.
170: Bobby Steveson (Merrillville) dec. Riley Lefever (Carroll-Fort Wayne), 5-4.
182: Matt Hurford (Culver Community) dec. Jake Masengale (Perry Meridian), 9-4.
195: Mitch Sliga (Fishers) pinned Jaylin Allen (SB Clay), 0:31.
220: Gelen Robinson (Lake Central) dec. Fletcher Miller (Kokomo), 7-2.
285: Donte Winfield (Perry Meridian) dec. Joseph Garland (Rushville), 5-1.

(For third place)
106: D.J. Smith (Franklin) dec. Cael McCormick (Yorktown), 5-0.
113: Sawyer Miller (South Adams) dec. Connor Knapp (East Noble), 5-3 in OT.
120: Schuyler Phillips (Yorktown) dec. Bailey LaHue (Corydon Central), 7-4.
126: Ben Harvey (Indianapolis Cathedral) dec. Tom Gettinger (Connersville), 3-3 criteria.
132: Skyler Lykins (Franklin) maj. dec. Hugo Perez (Frankfort), 15-6.
138: Tyler Hupp (Indianapolis Cathedral) dec. Chandler Carroll (Yorktown), 6-5.
145: Tristan Macri (Mishawaka) dec. Brendon Kelley (Evansville Central), 3-1.
152: Isaiah Bradley (Muncie South) won by injury def. over Conner Brummett (DeKalb).
160: Rhett Hiestand (Yorktown) pinned Mark Maldonado (Highland), 2:42.
170: Anthony Linnear (Fort Wayne North Side) pinned Jacob Reed (Muncie South), 4:27.
182: Brian Wagner (New Palestine) pinned Seth Riley (Fishers), 2:19.
195: Clayton Fiddler (Bloomington South) pinned Kalob Salkill (South Spencer), 0:36.
220: Max Hernandez (Warren Central) dec. Connor Tolley (Franklin), 6-1.
285: Wesley Bernard (Indianapolis Cathedral) pinned Austin Little (North Posey), 0:59.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 191568771 -
Gray Television, Inc.