Notre Dame selects its new Leprechaun

Notre Dame has its leprechauns for the 2014-2015 school year.

John Doran will serve as the football and men's basketball leprechaun, winning the competition during Friday night's tryouts at the Joyce Center.

Doran outlasted five other finalists for the right to represent Notre Dame as its main mascot.

Nathan Bombardier will be the leprechaun for women's basketball while Penn High School alum Mitch Meersman will serve as the leprechaun for hockey.

The six candidates were judged in a number of categories including a mock pep rally, panel interviews and a media session.

The media session was conducted by WNDU's own Angelo Di Carlo for the 8th straight year.

WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 256797101 -