Hoosiers to add 7 to athletic Hall of Fame

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. Former Indiana University President William Lowe Bryan and current men's soccer coach Todd Yeagley headline the Hoosier new Hall of Fame class.

School officials announced Thursday that seven new members will be inducted Oct. 5.

Bryan played baseball at Indiana in 1884, served as the school president in 1902-37 and is credited with pushing for the school's admission into the Big Ten.

Yeagley played soccer for his Hall of Fame father, Jerry, and returned to coach the soccer team in 2010. He led Indiana to last year's national title.

The other new inductees are 1968 Olympic swimmer Larry Barbiere, football All-American and men's golf coach Bob Fitch, track All-American Mike Goodrich, 1994 national soccer player of the year Brian Maisonneuve, and Amy McGrath, who qualified for the 1980 Olympic team.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 222572731 - wndu.com/a?a=222572731
Gray Television, Inc.