Notre Dame's Jackson Named Hockey Coach of the Year

The awards keeping coming in for the Notre Dame hockey team. Days after goalie David Brown became the first Irish player to be named 1st-team All-American since 1983, his head coach--Jeff Jackson---won the Spencer Penrose Award as the NCAA Division I Hockey Coach of the Year.

Jackson is the first Notre Dame coach to ever win the award.

Jackson is in his 2nd season as the Irish head coach. The year before he arrived, the Irish won just 5 games. Two seasons later, he led Notre Dame to a number of milestones.

This year, the Irish won their first ever CCHA regular season and tournament titles. They also won their first ever NCAA Tournament game when they defeated Alabama-Huntsville in the opening round. Notre Dame spent a good portion of the season as the top-ranked team in the nation and was the top-seed in the Midwest regional.

The Irish season ended in the 2nd round of the NCAA Tournament when they lost to eventual National Champion Michigan State.

WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6959047 -
Gray Television, Inc.