Harangody named to Big East 1st Team

Reigning Big East Player of the Year Luke Harangody was named to the Big East first team on Sunday.

Harangody is the first player in Big East history to lead the conference in scoring and rebounding in back-to-back seasons. He averaged 25 points and 13 rebounds a game this year.

Pittsburgh’s Sam Young joined Harangody as the only repeat first team selections from a year ago. Also named to the first team were Hasheem Thabeet (Connecticut), Terrence Williams (Louisville), Jerel McNeal (Marquette) and DeJuan Blair (Pittsburgh).

No other Irish player made it on the 2nd, 3rd or rookie teams.

The 6-8, 255-pound forward became just the third Irish player to earn first team recognition on multiple occasions. Pat Garrity, who earned BIG EAST Player of the Year accolades in 1997, earned first team accolades in ’97 and 1998, while Troy Murphy, a two-time BIG EAST player-of-the-year honoree, garnered first-team honors in 2000 and 2001.

In addition to Harangody, Murphy and Garrity, Notre Dame’s other first-team all-BIG EAST honorees include Russell Carter (2007), Colin Falls (2007), Chris Quinn (2006), Matt Carroll (2003) and Ryan Humphrey (2002).

Notre Dame earned the No. 10 seed in the upcoming 2009 BIG EAST Championship that begins on Tuesday (March 10) at New York’s Madison Square Garden. The Irish finished the regular season with a 17-13 record and 8-10 mark in conference play and will take on No. 15 seed Rutgers (11-20, 2-16.).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 40930322 - wndu.com/a?a=40930322
Gray Television, Inc.