Western Am leaving Point O'Woods

A 38-year tradition is coming to an end.

2008 will be the final time Benton Harbor's Point O'Woods is the exclusive home of the Western Amateur, the Western Golf Association announced Monday.

Beginning in 2009, the prestrigious golf amateur will rotate between four or five Chicago area golf courses, including Point O'Woods.

The Western Am first arrived in Benton Harbor in 1963. Point O'Woods became the exclusive home for the tournament in 1971.

Past winners of the tournament include Tiger Woods ('94), Phil Mickelson ('91), Justin Leonard ('92, '93), Curtis Strange ('74), Ben Crenshaw ('73) and Andy North ('71).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 13787812 - wndu.com/a?a=13787812