LSU beats Ohio State for BCS Championship

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Too much Matt Flynn. Too much Glenn Dorsey.

LSU is the BCS champion after scoring 31 straight points in a 38-24 win over Ohio State in the title game at New Orleans.

Flynn led the Tigers' offense with four touchdown passes, three coming while LSU was turning a 10-0 deficit into a 31-10 lead by the third quarter. Flynn was 18-of-27 for 174 yards to help the Tigers become the first team to win two BCS titles since the series rankings began in 1998.

Dorsey led a defense that blanked the Buckeyes for more than 37 consecutive minutes, allowing the Tigers to take control. The Tigers' defense didn't wilt after Beanie Wells scored on a 65-yard run on the fourth play of the game.

Jacob Hester added a rushing touchdown for the Tigers, whose title hopes appeared to be over when they lost to Arkansas in overtime the day after Thanksgiving.

Todd Boeckman threw for 206 yards and two touchdown but also had a pair of interceptions. Wells had 146 yards on 20 carries.

Both teams finish the year 11-and-2.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 13518352 -