USDA adds 14 Ind. counties to disaster list

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

The lingering drought has led the U.S. Department of Agriculture to declare a natural disaster in 14 more of Indiana's 92 counties.

The USDA added the following counties Wednesday: Blackford, Boone, Clinton, Delaware, Fountain, Henry, Madison, Montgomery, Rush, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo and White. Along with adjacent counties, they qualify for low-interest relief loans from the federal government.

Fifty counties earlier had been declared natural disaster areas.

The latest U.S. Drought Monitor report released Thursday showed that nearly 54 percent of Indiana is now in extreme drought.

Federal officials say 71 percent of Indiana's corn crop is in poor to very poor condition due to drought and heat stress.

Drought conditions are expected to continue as late as October.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 163747186 -
Gray Television, Inc.