New legislation requires registered sex offenders to pay annual fee

By: NewsCenter16 Staff Email
By: NewsCenter16 Staff Email

Registered sex offenders in Michigan will have to pay an annual fee starting April 1.

Legislation signed in November requires more than 40,000 sex offenders to pay $50 to cover the $600,000 it costs to operate the offender database.

This replaces the system that used to allow sex offenders to pay a one-time fee.

The law only applies to registered sex offenders who are out of prison.

Governor Snyder says the law brings Michigan in line with neighboring states.


Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 252093461 - wndu.com/a?a=252093461