McGraw named National Coach of the Year; Loyd Freshman of Year

Notre Dame head coach Muffet McGraw and freshman guard Jwell Loyd have been honored in the highest way by the U.S. Basketball Writers' Assocation.

McGraw is the USBWA National Coach of the Year for the 2nd time, last winning it in 2001 when the Irish won its only national title. McGraw is just the 3rd coach to ever win the award twice, joining Geno Auriemma and Kim Mulkey.

Loyd is the National Freshman of Year. She is the first Irish player to win the award since Jackie Batteast in 2002.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 201490441 -
Gray Television, Inc.