Te'o Trifecta: Manti wins Maxwell, Walter Camp and Bednarik Awards

It was a Te'o Trifecta.

Manti Te'o won the Maxwell Player of the Year, Walter Camp Player of the Year, and Bednarik Defensive Player of the Year Awards Thursday night at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando.

The Irish captain and linebacker has now won six national honors, more than any player in college football history.

The final award that Te'o won Thursday--was then one that got Manti by surprise as he became the first defensive player since 1980 to win the Maxwell Award, which for the last nine years has gone to a quarterback. Te'o edged Johnny Manziel and Collin Klein for the honor.

So will that be a prelude to Saturday when Manti faces both again in the Heisman Trophy race?

Prior to Thursday, Te'o already had already been awarded the Butkus Award, Bronco Nagurski Trophy and Lombardi Award.

The Walter Camp Award was voted on by the 124 Football Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors. Te'o beat out Manziel, Klein, USC receiver Marqise Lee and Oregon running back Kenjon Barner.

The Fighting Irish senior becomes the third defensive player to win and fourth Notre Dame player to be selected for the Walter Camp Award.

Te'o is the first Irish player to ever win the Bednarik Award.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email: newscenter16@wndu.com
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 182466181 - wndu.com/a?a=182466181
Gray Television, Inc.