Moore's 28 not enough as Warsaw falls in 4A state championship game

Nic Moore scored 28 points in the first three quarters, but it wasn't even close to enough as Warsaw lost to North Central 95-74 in the 4A boys basketball state championship game Saturday night at Conseco Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

North Central (25-3) scored the most points by any team in a championship game since Indiana switched to class basketball after the 1996-1997 season, and fell two points short of the all-time record for points in a championship game. Oscar Robertson led Indianapolis Crispus Attucks to a 97-point outburst in the 1955 title game.

Moore scored 14 of his 28 in the 3rd alone, but fouled out with 43 seconds left in the period. Despite Moore's efforts, the Tigers were still down by 17 points when he left the game.

Moore had to impress IU coach Tom Crean, who was sitting in the front row. The Hoosiers are currently recruiting Moore and Crean was in attendance for Warsaw's practice Tuesday at Conseco. Crean was sitting next to Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels, a North Central grad--who had to be pleased with what he saw from his Panthers.

Purdue coach Matt Painter, North Carolina coach Roy Williams, Illinois coach Bruce Weber and Minnesota coach Tubby Smith were all also in attendance.

Purdue bound Terone Johnson led North Central with 26 points as the Panthers used a 22-2 1st half run to pull away. Warsaw led 12-10 in the 1st quarter when North Central scored the game's next 14 points. Moore finally stopped the bleeding with a jumper in the 2nd, but the Panthers would score eight in a row from there to go up by 18.

Sophomore Lucas Grose had 18 points for the Tigers (23-3). His dad Jeff led the Tigers to their only state championship victory in 1984.

Senior Justin Clemens won the Mental Attitude Award.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 89343102 -