South Bend Police Department Awards Ceremony

The South Bend Police Department took some time today to honor more than 130 officers and civilians that they say went above and beyond the call of duty.

South Bend Police Chief Thomas Fautz and Mayor Steve Luecke presented awards to the men and women being recognized by the police department.

From merit, to lifesaving, to community problem solving, many different awards were handed out.

The 2006 Officer of the Year award was also announced.

This year, Corporal Chris Bortone was honored.

The police department says Bortone helped find and arrest the suspect responsible for several arson cases in the area.

This is the fifth annual South Bend Police Department Awards Ceremony.

WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6073361 -
Gray Television, Inc.