Ind. awards 10 school innovation grants

By: Associated Press Email
By: Associated Press Email

The Indiana Department of Education has distributed its first round of 10 innovation grants totaling $2.4 million to schools and groups across the state.

The Warsaw Community Schools will use nearly $440,000 to turn an elementary school into a science-technology-engineering-mathematics academy linked to its local economy and ecology. La Casa de Amistad in nearby South Bend is getting $114,000 to close the achievement gap for Latino and Hispanic students in that area.

The Wilson Education Service in Charlestown is receiving more than $250,000 to improve reading among students in kindergarten through sixth grade. The Center serves 166 public and private schools in 12 southeastern counties.

Also receiving large grants are the Crothersville Community Schools ($338,000), the Greater Clark County Schools ($280,000), and Herron High School, an Indianapolis charter school ($438,000).

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 139501323 -