Catholic Schools Office releases enrollment figures

By: The Associated Press
By: The Associated Press

Total enrollment for all diocesan Catholic schools for the 2007-2008 school year amounts to 13,062 students, a decrease of 293 students compared to last year’s enrollment, according to figures released by the Catholic Schools Office.

Enrollment in the four Catholic high schools of the Diocese of Fort Wayne-South Bend increased from 3,218 students last year to 3,224 students this year. The high-school enrollment figures are: Saint Joseph’s, South Bend, 842 students – an increase of 50 students; Marian, Mishawaka, 769 students – a decrease of 32 students; Bishop Dwenger, Fort Wayne, 1,067 students – an decrease of six students; and Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne, 546 students – a decrease of six students.

Bishop John D’Arcy established a procedure years ago stipulating any high school that increased its Grade-9 enrollment over the previous year would receive a $1,000 bonus. This year both Saint Joseph’s and Bishop Luers qualified with freshman-enrollment increases of 50 and 38 students, respectively. An additional $1,000 bonus also was awarded to Saint Joseph’s for the highest percentage freshman enrollment increase.

Enrollment for the 40 Catholic elementary schools in the diocese is 9,816 students – a decrease of 321 students.

The student enrollment at each Catholic elementary school (without PreKindergarten figures) is as follows:

South Bend Area (St. Joseph County):

Christ the King, 511; Corpus Christi, 343; Holy Cross, 319; Holy Family, 356; Our Lady of Hungary, 88; St. Adalbert, 142; St. Anthony De Padua, 372; St. John the Baptist, 155; St. Joseph, 438; St. Jude, 173; and St. Matthew, 380. In Mishawaka – Queen of Peace, 206; St. Bavo, 183; St. Joseph, 183; St. Monica, 164 and St. Patrick (Walkerton), 36.

The total Catholic elementary school enrollment for all of St. Joseph County is 4,049 students.

Elkhart County:

St. Thomas, 432; St. Vincent de Paul, 115; St. John (Goshen), 111

Marshall County:

St. Michael (Plymouth), 197

Outlying Area Schools:

Wabash County: St. Bernard (Wabash), 92; Kosciusko County: Sacred Heart (Warsaw), 149

The total enrollment for all South Bend Area Catholic elementary schools is 4,904.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 9758647 -
Gray Television, Inc.