South Bend school named Blue Ribbon School

A South Bend school is among eight Hoosier schools recognized for achievement by the U.S. Department of Education.

Christ the King in South Bend was named a Blue Ribbon School.

The No Child Left Behind/Blue Ribbon Schools awards go to K-12 schools that either make significant gains in closing the achievement gap, or demonstrate academic superiority.

Liberty Park Elementary School in Indianapolis, Rousseau McClellan School in Indianapolis and St. Casimir School in Hammond were all selected because at least 40 percent of their disadvantaged students have dramatically improved in achievement.

Indiana schools in the top 10 percent of the state with fewer than 40 percent of disadvantaged students are Christ the King, Centerton Elementary in Martinsville, Hazel Dell Elementary in Noblesville, Signature School in Evansville, and Union Township Middle School in Valparaiso.

Indiana’s eight Blue Ribbon Schools were among 320 schools honored nationally this year. The Department of Education determines how many schools in each state are eligible to receive the award based on the total number of K-12 students and schools in that state.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
WNDU - Channel 16 54516 State Road 933 South Bend, IN 46637 Front Desk: 574-284-3000 Newsroom: 574-284-3016 Email:
Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 28092994 -
Gray Television, Inc.